Rebeccus Farcis

Rebeccus Farcis means "Have Fun", in err.. the yet to be discovered Martian.

Chicken Hawaiian Pizza

with 10 comments

It was a rainy day! Thick black clouds thundered from the heavens. Rain had stopped, but there was a wonderful breeze blowing from the Bay of Bengal. Not to miss out on any such wonderful moments, I took a chair up onto the terrace… and got busy flipping the pages of John Grisham!I must’ve read a little over 10 pages when I heard footsteps approaching me!
Here was Kaushik, dressed in his best Levis wear, magnificent looking Reebok shoes and a Ray-ban sunglasses added to it. Hair all gelled to perfection, Kaushik, for the first time since I’d seen him back in school… looked a dude! There was one small hitch though! He didnt look his usual “I dont give a damn to this world” self!
“Something wrong?”, I couldnt help asking him!
“I am meeting Priya today!” The excitement in his voice was quite unmistakable.
“In Chennai?? Dude.. u never told me she is in Chennai”, I couldn’t forgive this guy!
“Abey.. aise mat bol! Teri bhabhi lagti hai woh!”…. How many times have I heard this line! Probably all through me college life.. atleast the latter half!

It was towards the end of 2nd yr that we saw Priya… err.. Kaushik saw Priya! She was the cream of his eyes then on! She was from the IT dept.. we were the rocking Chem Engg…. Classrooms far away! But our dear Kaushik would do anything to catch even the tiniest glimpse of her! One fine day, he walked up to me:
“Srini, what do you think of Priya?”
“Well.. I’m not allowed to think of her, so why are you asking this”.
“Err.. its like I want you to befriend her and then introduce her to me!”.. I being the more-famous guy would be able to somehow get to her was his logic!
I never did! If not for that eventful 3rd year when we hosted the farewell for our seniors together, I would’ve never talked to Priya! But I never introduced Kaushik to this girl!
5 in the evening! Kaushik had to go! First date! With the girl of his dreams! In a land so distant! Oh Boy, was Kaushik tensed! Even in this pleasant weather, I could sweat poring down his face. Few calming words, few encouraging ones… I bade him a big bye! Off he rode towards that wonderful place.. Pizza Corner Adayar! (He had, in very strong words ordered me to stay off that place that evening… thats how I know the address! ;-))

And I swirled back to my memories! Another of his antics!
Another day he came to me: “Dude, you think she is a veggie?”
“Never asked her!”, my off-handed reply.
“Dude.. pl…”, Kaushik pestering me here!
Two days later when he asked me this again.. another off-handed reply from me! “Yes buddy, she is a veggie.. and know what.. she hates non-veggies, badly!” Little did I know this would change one man’s life!
Then on, I’d got company! Until then I was the only veggie in the gang.. now Kaushik joined me! Tremendous change I must say.. from a pure-non-vegetarian (yes the very same who eats meat thrice a day) to a pure-vegetarian. Every restaurant that we went, for every dish he ate.. he had one question ready at hand, “Is this vegetarian”. So funny he looked that probably every waiter at Hotel Paradise would come to him with the remark… “Sir, yeh vegetarian hai”. But Kaushik being Kaushik, never would he mind!

That night he came home! Now that I’ve known Kaushik, quite well.. for over 10 yrs now… I could figure out something wrong in his face! First date failed??? She rejected him??? Or worse she slapped him and walked off?? I was pretty sure he would propose today!
“Hey dude, how was ur date?”
“Good man!”, Kaushik lost in his own world now!
“You proposed?”
“Yes”
“What did she say?”
“She accepted!”
Party time! Girl of his dreams! Was ready for him! But why is he so sad????
My inquisitions get the better of me!
“She accepted! Then its party time mate! What on earth are you sad for??”
“Srini, you remember how much I struggled for her! How much I gave up for her!”
“Yes I do”
“You remember how I stopped eating meat all for her. You know that I haven’t eaten that for 2 yrs now”
“Yes man… but what happened today?”
“She ordered Chicken Hawaiian pizza!” Lolz, I was in splits, laughing till my stomach burst!

That day on, I’ve got a Z+ security cover for myself! Lest there be any security violation and I be assassinated! I haven’t found my girl, and don’t intend to die till I get her!

Written by Srinivas

June 28, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude you have a natural flair for writing. Thoroughly enjoyed it cuz it is written the way you generally speak in real life. keep writing.

    Siddarth

    June 28, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  2. hey, srini, enjoyed it completely da 🙂

    preethi

    June 29, 2010 at 6:47 am

  3. Gud one :)…..Amazing…Loved it every bit of it….

    Supriya

    July 4, 2010 at 6:10 pm

  4. hehe nice one

    Dishit

    July 5, 2010 at 4:08 am

  5. heheh I had always loved this story of yours 😀

    Rajlakshmi

    July 5, 2010 at 8:34 am

  6. hey nice post..keep writing mate ,,, really njoid it 🙂

    Rupesh Dubey

    July 8, 2010 at 6:51 pm

  7. Glorifying someone…eh…..

    Nishu

    July 10, 2010 at 7:03 am

  8. So many comments from females.. well… that’s what your writing can do.. keep up the good work 😀

    Pooja

    July 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  9. So many comments from female fans.. well… that’s what your writing can do.. keep up the good work 😀

    Pooja

    July 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  10. nice one man….keep up the grt wrk

    Kapil Dev Tejwani

    July 21, 2010 at 6:37 am


Leave a Reply

